On The Democratic Peace Bibliography

November 29, 2008

I have also put in the sidebar a bibliography to the democratic peace. It is as complete as I could make it up to the years 2000, and nothing I know of more recently contradicts what the listed works show. This is that the idea of the democratic peace has involved the most scholarly, scientific, and replicated research in the academic discipline of international relations. The conclusion of all this is that democracies do not fight or make war on each other. Their relations are cooperative and peaceful. This is not to say that there are no deep conflicts or crises. There are, but they are nonviolent.

This peace holds regardless of religion, culture, region, history, economic development, international status, alliances, or power; regardless of the social scientist or scholar; and, regardless of the historical period or data set.

All this provides a sound premise for a democratic peace foreign policy–to promote world peace and an end to war, foster democracy. And this has been the fundamental foreign policy of the United States Under Clinton and Bush.


On The Universal Archive In The Sidebar

November 29, 2008

For easy access, I have put the link to my universal archive in the sidebar. The archive includes the 495 blogs and occasional commentary that were published on my previous now dead “freedomspeace” blog. I am now republishing the blogs here, and those so republished are colored green in this archive. Take a look and if you see any that you would like me to transfer here ASP, email me at Rummel@hawaii.edu.